April 2009: My Q&A with Nic Harris before the NFL Draft

Football: Q&A with former Sooner Nic Harris

Claire Brandon/The Daily

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

NFL draft prospect Nic Harris is just a few days away from finding out if his dream becomes a reality. Harris, a two-year starter at safety for the Sooners, could possibly shift to linebacker at the next level.

This would not be new to Harris, a versatile defender who shifted to middle linebacker in multiple games last season after injuries at the position plagued the Sooners.

You played safety at OU and now may move to linebacker. Where do you see yourself playing?

I see myself on the field. Either or, but it doesn’t matter because at the end of the day, you know, just playing ball. Wherever they want me to play, I’m pretty sure that whatever team selects me, I’ll be a pretty good fit. Ultimately, just use my skills and have them use me wherever they want to use me.

How much attention do you pay to the analysis and predictions?

None, because at the end of the day, those analyses are pretty much just written by critics. And the last time I checked, the critic has never made the selection.

What skills do you think will make you successful in the NFL?

My ability to be extremely knowledgeable. My ability to make the calls as well as to, you know, make the game easy.

What has the draft process been like?

It’s an experience. Living the dream. Something I’ve wanted ever since I was young. In a couple days my dreams are about to come a reality. And ultimately there’s not many people who get to live out their dreams.

What are you looking forward to most about playing in the NFL?

I’m looking forward to being the best-known athlete in the NFL, not wearing a helmet. Ultimately what that means is I want to make myself as marketable as I possibly can, off the field. Because I think that my athletic ability will take care of itself on the field.

Any big plans for draft day?

We’re just planning on having a big draft extravaganza and just trying to give back to my community. A lot of family coming in, a lot of friends coming in.

How are you feeling about it, are you excited?

I haven’t been. The closer it gets I’ll become more, but right now I don’t want to get overly anxious. As far as Saturday goes, I probably won’t get any sleep the night before. I guess as the week progresses I will be.

With which teams have you worked out and been in contact?

I’ve worked out with St. Louis, I worked out with New England. Buffalo brought me in. I met Atlanta, Carolina, Jacksonville, so pretty much every team or all the teams at the Combine as well as my Pro Day, as well as the Senior Bowl. I’m extremely confident that things, you know, will work out the way that I suggest that they should. But, you never know.

Have you been working out at safety or linebacker?

Both. There’s not one set drill that is predicated around linebacking or predicated around safety, so it’s pretty much just extremely both.

Do you think your versatility will work to your benefit?

Yeah, it may or it may not. It depends on who wants what. I think that whatever team that, like I said I’m extremely grateful to be considered, but whatever team does draft me I feel they’ll be getting the best of both worlds, because I can play pretty much virtually anywhere on the field.

Leave a Reply

