Ryan McMahon Arrives in Grand Junction

Image

GRAND JUNCTION, Colo.–Second-round draft pick Ryan McMahon out of Mater Dei High School flew into Grand Junction from Denver Saturday morning.

The Rockies selected the 18-year-old third baseman with the 42nd overall pick.

“My mom actually got me a book, ‘486 Ways to Become an Adult,” McMahon said. “So, I’m reading that, but I don’t think I’ll have any trouble. I’m definitely just going to just be learning and getting used to it.”

The USC commit was named the 2013 Trinity League MVP after hitting .353 for a high school team ranked No. 1 in the nation.

The left-handed hitter was also the quarterback for Mater Dei, a football program that has produced names like Matt Leinart and Matt Barkley.

Leave a Reply

